2016 in Review: Challenges & Resolutions

goodreads challenge 2016As a counterweight to all the positivity in my last post, I didn’t do too well with my various reading goals for last year (I didn’t do badly, exactly, but I also didn’t do nearly as well as I was hoping/expecting to). 😦 My My Year in Books page looks pretty awesome, but I fell short of my Goodreads Reading Challenge target by 13 books, which is a not-insignificant number… I pretty much resigned myself to failure on this front a couple of months ago, as the only way I would’ve been able to catch up was if I stopped going to work, and ignored all my friends and family for the rest of the year… (There are sacrifices I’m willing to make for the sake of books, but these are not among them.)


Of the fourteen books on my bucket list for the year, I managed to read five, which I’m actually not all that disappointed by. Yes, I still want to read all the other books on it (and I expect at least a few of them will also make it onto my bucket list for 2017), but most of the ones I did cross off had been languishing in my unread shelf for a long time, for basically no reason except that I kept getting distracted by other shiny things. The five books in question are:


As for my Reading Resolutions, I completed a grand total of… (drumroll, please) 2 out of 10! Impressive, I know. 😉 I did, however, come really close to finishing most of them, so I probably won’t be modifying them too much for 2017. But here’s a re-cap/round-up:

1) Take part in the Library Scavenger Hunt every month:

2) Read 5 sci-fi novels:

3) Read 3 DNF books: [completed 1]

4) Read 15 adult/literary novels: [completed 13]

5) Read 5 classics or modern classics: [completed 1]

    • Dracula by Bram Stoker [review linked above]

6) Read 7 books that showcase cultures different to my own: [completed 4]

    • The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya by Nagaru Tanigawa (Japan)
    • A Fool, Free by Beate Grimsrud (Norway & Sweden) [review linked above]
    • The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz (Dominican Republic) [review linked above]
    • Signs Preceding the End of the World by Yuri Herrera (Mexico) [review linked above]

7) Read 3 non-fiction books: [completed 0]

    • I failed so badly at this challenge. 😳

8) Finish/catch up on 5 series that I started before the beginning of the year: [completed 4]

9) Read 5 books that were given, lent or recommended to me: [completed 3]

    • Stardust by Neil Gaiman [review]
    • The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz [review linked above]
    • Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

10) Read 10 short stories (not including spin-off novellas): [completed 8]

    • The Threads of Time by C.J. Cherryh; Triceratops Summer by Michael Swanwick; The Most Important Thing in the World by Steve Bein; Himself in Anachron by Cordwainer Smith (all from The Time Traveller’s Almanac)
    • Some Desperado by Joe Abercrombie (from Dangerous Women)
    • Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell
    • Perfect State by Brandon Sanderson [review linked above]
    • Signs Preceding the End of the World by Yuri Herrera [review linked above]
2 thoughts on “2016 in Review: Challenges & Resolutions

    • I chose most of the categories either as ways to break myself out of my comfort zone, or to give myself that little extra push that I need to read books that I already have a lot of. For instance, I own a lot of classics, & most of the ones I’ve read, I’ve enjoyed; I’d really like to read them more often, but I always end up putting them aside in favour of other books that are (often) easier to read… so it’s about breaking myself of bad habits, I guess?

      As for the numbers, I’ve been doing these resolutions for a couple of years now, so I’ve started adjusting the numbers based on how close I came to completing each challenge (or, if I did complete it, how far past my goal I went) the year before.

      Like

Leave a Reply

