Book Playlists: North & South

Elizabeth Gaskell//North & SouthFor the last few weeks, my brain has been utterly consumed by North & South, a fantastic classic romance novel by Elizabeth Gaskell (which I reviewed here. Hint, hint). The book came up in conversation with my friend Grace, and all of a sudden it was all I could think about. Since then, I’ve re-watched the 2004 adaptation, braved some clips from the hilarious 1975 adaptation, and have gorged myself on fan-written sequels, but I’m still not sated. I anticipate a re-read in the very near future. In the meantime, however, I present you with…

NORTH & SOUTH:
a bookish playlist

1) Say Something (I’m Giving Up on You) by A Great Big World & Christina Aguilera

North & South is so full of misunderstandings that it’s kind of ridiculous (though it does make things wonderfully tense); so much would have been solved if Margaret and Mr. Thornton were just willing to talk to each other. The very first time I heard this song, I immediately thought of these two, and I’ve never been able to hear it without thinking of them since.

2) Every Little Thing She Does is Magic by Sleeping at Last

This song reminds me of the early parts of the book, where Mr. Thornton is falling slowly in love with Margaret. In particular, it makes me think of the scene where he’s utterly enchanted by the way she offers her hand to her father to use as sugar tongs, and by the way her bracelet keeps slipping down her wrist.

3) Please Speak Well of Me by The Weepies

This song represents their parting, from Margaret’s perspective. She knows (or believes that she knows) that she has lost Mr. Thornton’s good opinion along with his love, but she still hopes that he will not always judge her so harshly – as she has begun to realise too late that she loves him.

4) Stay by Rihanna & Mikky Ekko

Mr. Thornton’s take on the same scene: Desperately hoping for a sign that Margaret does not want to be parted from him, and grieved by the thought that he may never see her again.

5) Calls Me Home by Shannon LaBrie

I imagine this last song as Margaret’s realisation at the end of the book that Milton – the town she once resented so much – has become a home to her, and her gladness to return to it, and to Mr. Thornton.


[Book Playlists is a series I’ve been thinking of starting for a while now; I don’t tend to make a huge number of them (so I wouldn’t be posting things like this very often), but the ones that I have compiled, I’m quite proud of, and would like to share. Let me know if you’d be interested in seeing more of this kind of thing! 🙂 ]

Leave a Reply

