Teaser Tuesday #7

Melina Marchetta//Quintana of CharynTHE RULES:

  • Grab your current read.
  • Open to a random page.
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page.
    • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

I’m currently reading Quintana of Charyn by Melina Marchetta, the third and final book in The Lumatere Chronicles, which I decided I needed to finish near the end of last month – I read the first book last year, but the series got left by the wayside while I was waiting for books two and three to arrive from Amazon… I’m about a third of the way through at the moment (or perhaps a little less), and I’m really enjoying it so far (though I fear I may be falling into a slight reading slump); Marchetta has done a masterful job of weaving together complex characters and worlds and plotlines, and showing that there are a hundred sides to every story.

Teaser #1:

Being Evanjalin had trained her for years and years not to cry. It’s how she differed from the rest of the Monts. But he could see that she was still broken inside.

Teaser #2:

“Well, I’m to blame for many things, so I try to make it easier on the gods and take responsibility for all of them.”

“Even for the war in the kingdom of Yutlind?” Froi teased.

“Oh, yes, my fault. Shouldn’t have told the northern king that he was far more handsome than his southern cousin.”

[Teaser Tuesday was created by MizB over at A Daily Rhythm.]

Leave a Reply

