June Wrap-Up

I’ve been pretty caught up with work (and Fire Emblem) lately, which is why I’ve fallen a bit behind on my blogging schedule… I am still reading, though! Not as much as I usually would be, but I managed to finish four books in June – and they were pretty good ones. 🙂 Here’s what I thought of them:

Lauren Nicolle Taylor//Nora & KettleNora & Kettle by Lauren Nicolle Taylor. A re-imagining of Peter Pan, set just after World War II, in which Peter is actually a homeless Japanese-American teenager called Kettle, and Nora’s – Wendy’s – whole life is trying to protect her little sister from their abusive father. I absolutely loved this book, and read it in only a couple of sittings! There were a couple of places where the plot felt a little contrived, but not enough to really bother me, and the characters and writing were all wonderful, and I loved the way that Taylor drew on Peter Pan… I only wish there’d been more to read! This is also the first book in a new series, so I’ll be eagerly awaiting news of a sequel.4 stars

David Gaider//The CallingThe Calling by David Gaider. The second of the Dragon Age spin-off novels, which follows Maric several years after the events of The Stolen Throne, joining a group of Grey Wardens who need him to guide them through an area of the Deep Roads. Another really great book, which I actually enjoyed even more than The Stolen Throne – the writing is greatly improved, and the smaller time-scale of the story meant that there was a lot more room for character development. And speaking of characters, it was great to be back in Maric’s head, but I also really loved seeing Duncan (from Dragon Age: Origins) and Fiona (from Dragon Age: Inquisition) play such prominent roles!4 starsHelen Oyeyemi//Boy, Snow, BirdBoy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi. An almost-retelling of Snow White set in 1950s America, and full of interesting (historical) social commentary, beautiful writing, and a heavy dose of magical realism. This was my Library Scavenger Hunt pick for June, so you can read my review of it here! 🙂4 starsMelissa Marr//Wicked LovelyWicked Lovely by Melissa Marr. The first book in the Wicked Lovely series, which follows a group of friends who find themselves caught up in the sinister world of faeries. The first book is about Aislinn, who’s been able to see faeries for her whole life, and spent most of her life running from them… I was meaning to post a full review of this last week, but I’ve had a bit of a block – so look forward to seeing it in the next few days! ^^’3 stars

Leave a Reply

