Upcoming Releases: Summer 2016

Happy summer! The sun is shining today (at long last), and I am decidedly not outside, because I clearly have no common sense… And because I wanted to write a blog post, of course. 😉 There don’t seem to be quite so many new books being released this summer as there were in spring, but there are still a few that I’m really excited for – here’s what I’m looking forward to picking up in the months of June, July and August!

[NB: All dates are taken from Amazon UK unless stated otherwise, and are correct as of 05/06/2016.]

David Kudler//RisukoRisuko by David Kudler (15th June)

The first in a new historical series called Seasons of the Sword, which is set in sixteenth-century Japan, known as the Warring States Era, and follows a girl called Risuko (which means squirrel) who gets caught up in the civil war and is (presumably) trained to be a kunoichi – a female ninja / spy. This is a period I don’t know all that much about, but which has always fascinated me, so I’m really excited to pick this up. And who can say no to a good ninja story? Not me, certainly. 😉

Melissa Grey//The Shadow HourThe Shadow Hour by Melissa Grey (12th July)

The sequel to The Girl at Midnight, which I read almost as soon as it came out last year and really loved. It’s only been a year, but I do feel like I’ve been waiting forever for this book, since there were some really dramatic revelations at the end of the last one, and it definitely left me wanting more. If you haven’t yet started this series, then now’s a great time to pick it up! 😀

J.K. Rowling//Harry Potter & the Cursed ChildHarry Potter & the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne & John Tiffany (31st July)

A book that needs no introduction, and seems to be on everyone’s “most anticipated” lists for the whole year, let alone the summer. I myself am more excited to see the play than to read the script, but I will absolutely be doing both anyway. XD The first performances will actually be staged in just a couple of days, though I expect I’ll have to wait quite a bit longer to see it… ^^’

Meg Cabot//RemembranceRemembrance by Meg Cabot (11th August)

Lastly, a Mediator spin-off novel, which takes place several years post-series, and follows Suze (and her relationship with Jesse) as she starts her first job. Meg Cabot also wrote a post-Princess Diaries book a little while ago (although I still haven’t read it), & I’m really liking this trend of revisiting the characters from her series when they’re adults (as most of the books’ fans now are); I hope it’s something that she’s planning on continuing with… a Missing sequel, perhaps? 🙂

Leave a Reply

