2015 in Review: Reading Challenges

Happy New Year’s Eve! 😀 Since I did a post on my 2015 favourites yesterday, I thought I’d write a kind of summary of my various reading challenges today, and take a look at how I did on them – though there weren’t actually all that many… (And the reading year seems pretty much over now, as there’s no way I’m going to be able to finish my current book – Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes – before the end of the day. ^^’ )

goodreads challenge 2015My main challenge was, of course, the Goodreads challenge, where I initially set myself a goal of 60 books (I think), but since I reached that quite early on in the year, I ended up increasing my goal a couple of times afterwards. My final goal was to read 150 books this year, and I’m happy to say that I managed to pass it! 😀 You can see the books I read by clicking on the challenge icon to the right, or you can check out My Year in Books, which is a Goodreads feature that I thought was pretty neat; it also shows the books I read this year, but with some interesting stats added in, and a more aesthetic layout. 🙂

My other big challenge – or rather, series of small challenges – was my reading resolutions, which I made in hopes of widening the range of books that I read, and I managed to complete all these, too! The challenges were:

[NB: For many of these challenges, I actually read more than was required, but I’ve only listed the first ones I read, in order to complete the challenge (e.g. If I challenged myself to read 6 fantasy novels, but actually read 10, then I would have only listed the first 6 that I read this year).]

1) Finish or catch up on 5 series that I’ve already started:

  • The Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer
  • The Shatter Me trilogy by Tahereh Mafi
  • The Naruto (manga) series by Masashi Kishimoto
  • The Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout
  • The Tales of the Latter Kingdoms series by Christine Pope (which, as of about a month ago, I am no longer up-to-date on 😳 )

2) Read 3 classics/modern classics:

3) Read 5 graphic novels:

4) Read 10 adult novels:

5) Re-read 5 books:

6) Read 5 books that have been given (or recommended) to me by other people:

  • Mãn by Kim Thúy [review linked above]
  • The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch
  • The Boy that Never Was by Karen Perry
  • Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons
  • The Kitchen God’s Wife by Amy Tan [review linked above]

7) Re-start or finish 5 DNF (Did Not Finish) books:

8) Read 5 books that showcase cultures different to my own (changed from “5 books by international authors”, to better reflect my actual intention with this challege):

9) Read 3 non-fiction books:

10) Read 10 short stories (that aren’t spin-off novellas):

5 thoughts on “2015 in Review: Reading Challenges

Leave a Reply

