The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

sisterhood of the world bloggers awardHello all! Today I bring you my extremely belated (and when I say extremely, I mean it’s seriously, seriously late – I should’ve done this back in July!) Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award post! I received three nominations for this. Three! I’m blown away! 😀 My wonderful nominators were: Panda from Panda’s Books, Lizzy from mylittlebookblog, and Hafsa & Saba from BookMates. Thanks guys~ ❤

This does however mean that I have three whole sets of questions to answer, so bear with me everyone – this is going to be a long one. 😉

Rules:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and link to their website.
  • Insert the award logo in your blog post.
  • Answer the ten questions that were provided by your nominator.
  • Nominate ten more bloggers, and…
  • Create ten new questions for your nominees.

Panda’s Questions:

1) What is your second favourite book of all time and why?

I have two favourites that are about even on the scale of favourite-ness: A Traveller in Time by Alison Uttley, and Street Magic by Tamora Pierce. And since I’m pretty sure I’ve talked about A Traveller in Time pretty often already, I suppose I should tell you about Street Magic… It’s the second book in the Circle Opens series, which makes it the sixth book in the Emelan universe, which is probably my favourite series ever. The reason I like this book in particular so much is simple, though – it’s the book where my favourite character in the series (Briar) was really able to come into his own, as well as being the book where my second-favourite character (Evvy) was first introduced into the series. I’ve read this book to death, and listened to it as an audiobook a fair few times, too, and I’m still not sick of it! (Hopefully I never will be.)

2) Tell us your favourite last-day-of-school memory.

Nothing really stands out to me about any last days of school, but I do remember the last day of uniform in year 11, which was amazing! Basically our whole year group came in in wrecked uniforms (it was something of a tradition), and we all signed each other’s shirts. My mum put mine in the wash, unfortunately (even though it was clean, since I’d been wearing a t-shirt instead that day), and all the nice messages washed out… 😦

3) What’s your favourite musical and why?

Hmm… this question sounds familiar~ 😛 I still love Oklahoma! It’s just so much fun!

4) Do you sleep with a cuddly toy? What’s the story?

I do, though I should probably be embarrassed by that, since I’m 26… 😳 I have five that I keep on my bed, but the most important of them is Ambear, a teddy that my parents gave me on my first birthday. He’s travelled the world with me, and it’s very rare that I spend a night without him.

5) Do you use your local library? Why?

Of course! Who could say no to free books?

6) What’s your favourite subject at school?

I really loved both Physics and Classics.

7) What’s the one thing your most looking forward to in the holidays?

Since this is late, and the summer holidays are already over, I’ll just say that I really enjoyed everything I did, though my trip to Iceland was definitely a highlight. 😀

8) If you could live in any city (real) in the world, which one would you choose?

Being a Cambridge girl, I think Cambridge is far superior to everywhere else ( 😉 ). Though it’d be interesting to live somewhere like Tokyo or Kyoto for a little while…

9) What was your favourite picture book as a child?

Two picture books that I remember loving when I was little were Rosie’s Babies by Martin Waddell, and The Owl Who Was Afraid of the Dark by Jill Tomlinson.

10) Can you lick your nose?

I can’t even get close. 😀

Lizzy’s Questions:

1) What do you currently have checked out from the library?

I have four at the moment: Snow White by Keith Austin; Arcanum by Simon Morden; Fiesta by Kate Cann, which is my September Library Scavenger Hunt pick; and River Secrets by Shannon Hale, which I picked up thinking it was the second book in the Bayern series, when it’s actually the third. :/

2) Do you prefer to read one book at a time or several at once?

I prefer to read one at a time, though recently I’ve become less good at it… 😳

3) Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?

Not really. I started reading a lot more when I moved to China, and thankfully I’ve managed to keep that up since I’ve come home. The blog has probably helped with that, though.

4) Open the book closest to you and open to page 54. Write the first line.

“Never express anger with a friend or a subordinate in public,” Vedris always said. “They might forgive a private expression of anger or a deserved scolding, but they never forget a public humiliation. It is the surest way to destroy a friendship and to create enemies.”
~The Will of the Empress by Tamora Pierce (pp. 53-4)

5) If you have to choose a book to describe your life right now what would it be?

Maybe Attachments by Rainbow Rowell? I didn’t like that book so much, though…

6) Worst book habit.

I buy way too many kindle books, just because they’re cheap, and then lose interest in them almost immediately… I do it with physical books, too, but not to such a great extent. :/

7) Which three attributes do you think make for a great book?

I actually have a theory about this: There are three major things that you look for in every book, and if you find one with at least two, then you’ll probably enjoy it. They are 1) a likeable/relatable main character, 2) an interesting storyline, & 3) an engaging writing style.

8) What is your number one tip for encouraging children to read?

I think that children just need to find the right books. I hated reading when I was little, but it was really only because people kept making me read things that I didn’t find interesting.

9) Name three books you wish you’d written.

There aren’t really any… I’d rather write my own books… But if I could ever come close to Tolkien’s genius, then I could die happy~ 😛

10) Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin.

My mum gave me this giant bind-up of the Gormenghast trilogy a few years ago which I just can’t bring myself to open, even though I’m reasonably sure that I’ll like it.

Hafsa & Saba’s Questions:

1) Why did you start blogging?

Mainly just for something to do, but it was something I’d been considering for a long time beforehand. And also because I love books, and wanted to share that love. When I was in China, as well, a few of my co-workers would occasionally ask me for reading recommendations, and I really enjoyed trying to pick out books that would appeal to them. 🙂

2) Do your relatives / close people in your life know that you blog? If so what do they think of it?

Most of my friends and family know that I blog, and quite a lot of them read my posts, too! They’ve all been very supportive – and it definitely gives me something to talk about with my mum, as she’s very keen on blogging, too!

3) What series / book would you recommend to people?

I really love Tamora Pierce’s Emelan universe, and wish that more people would read it. The ‘verse consists of three separate series, which follow on from each other. In order, they are: The Circle of Magic (4 books), The Circle Opens (4 books), and The Circle Reforged (3 books so far).

4) How many books do you read in a week?

Depending on my mood (and how long the books in question are), I can read anything from no books to maybe about eight…?

5) How many books do you own? (ebooks and/or physical books)

I actually counted a while back, though I can’t remember the total off the top of my head… I know I have 214 books on my kindle, and there are (*checks*) 763 physical books that I own in my room… So that’s 977 altogether! Almost 1000! 😮

6) Indoor or outdoor reading?

I like the idea of reading outdoors, but the weather usually annoys me. When it’s hot, the  sun is too bright, and when there’s no sun, it’ll be windy or rainy, so I mostly read inside.

7) Where do you write your blog posts?

At home, in bed.

8) How long does it take you to write / edit a blog post? Where do you get your ideas for blog posts?

I keep a text file of ideas for blog posts (mostly for my thematic recs series), which I break out whenever I’m feeling uninspired, but I don’t often find that I need it. As for how long it takes to write them, it varies. Posts like this can take a while, because there’s a lot to say, as can the ones where I need lots of pictures, but most of my posts only take up to a couple of hours.

9) Would you rather have no T.V. or no books?

No TV. I don’t watch much anyway (though I’m sure I’d suffer for the loss of anime 😉 ).

10) Do any of your friends / close people in your life read that you can talk to about books?

Yep! I talk about books a lot when I’m with my best friend, and also when I hang out with my cousins, and my aunt. On the rare occasion that I find something I think my dad would like, I’ll lend it to him, and we’ll usually talk a bit about it afterwards. 🙂 A lot of my co-workers are readers, too (I work at a bookshop, so it makes sense~ 😛 ), though our tastes don’t coincide too often.

My Questions:

… I’m actually going to bow out at this point, and not tag anyone, partly because this post is super-long already, but mostly because I’m pretty sure that all the bloggers I follow have done this tag already… 😳 Sorry! I really enjoyed this, though, so thanks again to Panda, Lizzy, Hafsa & Saba for the great questions. It was a lot of fun! 😀

 

2 thoughts on “The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

Leave a Reply

