July Haul

I managed to behave myself in July! Which was an incredible feat, since I have a July birthday, and I usually use that as an excuse to splurge. 😳 I bought a grand total of  seven books, three of which were replacements for books that I had in editions that I didn’t like (but have already read), and two more of which are mythology books, which I like to dip into now and then, but don’t stress out over not having read yet~ 😛 Anyway, here they all are, artfully displayed:

July Haul

1) Harry Potter & the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling. I have, of course, read this several times already, and I used to own this exact edition… but it fell apart from too many re-reads, and I’ve been looking for a replacement ever since. It’s easy enough to find copies with this cover, but the first few books printed had an error in the graveyard scene, and I’ve never known an online seller to specify whether they’re selling a corrected or uncorrected copy. I accidentally bought a corrected edition on ebay a while ago, but I kept searching for an uncorrected one regardless (since I wanted a copy that was as close as possible to the one I originally owned) – so when one arrived at the second-hand bookshop where I work, I couldn’t let it slip away! Long story short: I bought it. 😉

2) Scottish Traditional Tales. This is a collection of Scottish stories, from (I assume, since they’re traditional) mostly anonymous authors. I picked it up while I was in Skye, since I’ve always loved folklore.

3) Land of the Seal People by Duncan Williamson. Another book I picked up in Skye, for much the same reason as the other. The stories in this one are mainly about Selkies, so far as I can tell.

4) Rebel Angels by Libba Bray. The second book in the Gemma Doyle trilogy, which I still haven’t started, but which I’ve heard amazing things about. But even if I end up hating it, I don’t feel bad because this was second-hand and therefore super-cheap. 😀

5) The Initiate by Louise Cooper. The first book in the amazing epic fantasy Time Master trilogy, which I read years ago. I actually already owned a copy of this book, but it was incredibly ugly, and in any case, it didn’t match the rest of the series, so I decided to finally buy myself a replacement as a birthday treat.

6) Eric and The Light Fantastic by Terry Pratchett. Two more Discworld books. I’m trying to collect the whole set of Rincewind books in these small-size editions (which are pretty hard to find nowadays), so I picked up The Light Fantastic second-hand, to replace my old, non-matching edition. Eric I bought new, as it’s pretty much the only Discworld book that you can still buy new in this edition… Another little birthday treat~ 😉

Leave a Reply

