Teaser Tuesday!

I’ve been seeing this meme around for quite a while, and it seems like a really fun way to discover new books! So I’ve finally decided to join in~ 🙂 This meme was created by MizB over at A Daily Rhythm (though the original post is on her old blog), and the rules are as follows:Juan Tomás Ávila Laurel//By Night the Mountain Burns

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
    • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Well, that’s easy enough. 😉 I’m currently reading a couple of different books, but the one I’m mainly focusing on at the moment is By Night the Mountain Burns by Juan Tomás Ávila Laurel (translated from the original Spanish by Jethro Soutar), which I just started reading yesterday! So far it seems to be a first person account of the narrator’s childhood on a small island off the coast of West Africa, and his memories of his grandfather.

Teaser #1:

Didn’t I begin by saying I never knew whether my grandfather was mad? Didn’t I say I never quite knew what he was? Well, we discovered part of what he was that day, on the balcony, and when we went into his room.

Teaser #2:

First came the song about Nuestro Señor, the one they put a crown of thorns on, drove nails into and killed to save sinners. Back then I didn’t really understand who the sinners were. What’s more, in our island’s language, the language that very sad song was sung in, the word “sinners” sounded very like “people” or “folk”, and so in my innocence, I heard the words wrong. So what I understood was that the man who’d had nails driven into him on the cross had died to save us, us being the people of our island.

4 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday!

      • I am currently on page 49 in the third book. Honestly, different people, different opinions. In my opinion, it’s a very mediocre series. I don’t like it, but I don’t hate it. I like most of the aspects of the book(s) like the plot and some of the characters. However, some of the scenes are so repetitive! It’s up to you if you want to read it. I suggest giving it a try, I thought I wasn’t going to enjoy the book, but I really do.

        Like

Leave a Reply

