Distractions!

A.K.A. The obligatory reading slump post.

A.K.A. An excuse to geek out over something other than books.

Today’s post comes to you pretty late (a whole day late, in fact!), because I’ve been super-distracted for the last week or so. I realised a couple of days ago, after my last post went up, that I didn’t have anything lined up for today – and every day since then, I’ve said to myself, “Oh, I’ll write something next time I have a spare moment.” … And then I promptly forget about it. Or rather, I get distracted by other shiny things.

goodreads challenge 2015

Also, this is a thing that happened while I was in Skye! I’ve increased my goal since then, of course, but I’m still pretty chuffed! (Click on the image to see my challenge page.)

The thing is, I haven’t been reading all that much this month. While I was in Skye, I only managed to get through about half of The Boy Who Wept Blood (by Den Patrick) over the greater part of the week – only to binge-read the second half of it, and the whole of How to Be Bad (by E. Lockhart, Lauren Myracle & Sarah Mlynowski) on the last day of the holiday. On the way back, I started on The Ask & the Answer by Patrick Ness, and I’m really loving it so far, but it’s been six days since I started, and I’m still less than 150 pages in… (well below my usual reading pace.) I don’t think I’m in a reading slump, exactly – I don’t really get reading slumps, thankfully. I’m just really, really distracted.

And what am I distracted by, I hear you ask? Well, a lot of things, but mostly Fire Emblem! In Skye I decided to introduce my friend Chloë to the wonders of Fire Emblem: Awakening, and we spent most of the week on a cooperative playthrough (we’d play a chapter each, and have long, involved discussions on important matters like who was going to marry whom, whether it was worth resetting the game in order to save a character who’d just died, and other such things). In this way, we managed to play about half of the game before Chloë had to leave, and it was really, really fun. But watching Chloë play – and experience this amazing game for the first time – made me kind of want to do the same thing.

I couldn’t, of course. At least, not with Awakening, as I’ve already played it over and over and over (as you can probably guess, it has great replay value~ 😛 ). However, I do have one other Fire Emblem game available to me: The Sacred Stones, which I got ages ago as part of the Nintendo 3DS Ambassador programme, tried playing once, and gave up on in sheer frustration. The experience almost stopped me from even trying Awakening, which would’ve been a shame (though perhaps not for my reading list!).

Some of my favourite characters so far. Left: Tana the pegasus rider. Right: Cormag the wyvern rider. Can you tell I like flying units? ;)

Some of my favourite characters so far. Left: Tana the pegasus knight. Right: Cormag the wyvern rider. Can you tell I like flying units? 😉

So, long story short, I decided to give it another go. I’m about halfway through at the moment, and while it’s definitely still a frustrating game (and a lot harder than Awakening), I’ve only had to reset-due-to-character-death a few times so far, and I’m enjoying the storyline and gameplay mechanics. I think it suffers a little in comparison to Awakening because the lack of voice acting makes it harder to get attached to the characters, but I’ve still found a few favourites~ ❤

The very observant amongst you might have noticed that I’ve added a video games category to my sidebar, so you can probably tell that I’m planning to do more gaming posts in the future (though it’ll still be more book stuff than anything else). I might eventually add an anime category as well, as that’s another of my major hobbies…

Lastly, I have a quick poll for you. One of my resolutions this year was to write at least one detailed book or series review every month, and I’m having trouble deciding which book to review this month…

*This would be my first choice, as I feel like there’s a lot to say about it, but there would be serious spoilers for The Boy with the Porcelain Blade (which, unfortunately, I don’t have so much to say about). I feel, however, that The Boy Who Wept Blood is a better introduction to the series – The Boy with the Porcelain Blade felt very prequel-y… :/

**Assuming that I actually get round to reading them this month… 😳

One thought on “Distractions!

Leave a Reply

