Holiday Reads

This week I’m heading off to the Isle of Skye with my parents and my sister (and my friend Chloë this year! 😀 ), which is something we try to do every summer, if we’re all available. Last time I was there (which was two years ago, as this time last year I was still living in China), I somehow managed to marathon basically the whole A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin – which is crazy; I have no idea how I managed it – as well as The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness and Delirium by Lauren Oliver.

So since Skye seems to be a good place to read epic fantasy, I thought I’d try to stick with that theme this year as well. The other books I’m taking are all summery contemporaries, since the weather’s been so lovely recently, and it’s really put me in the mood for them… Without further ado, I present my Skye TBR:Skye TBR

1) The Boy who Wept Blood by Den Patrick. I hope to have finished reading The Boy with the Porcelain Blade by the time I leave, so I’ll definitely be packing the sequel…

2) The Ask & the Answer by Patrick Ness. This will be a nice bit of continuity, since I also read The Knife of Never Letting Go in Skye (or, rather, on the way back). 😛

3) A Court of Thorns & Roses by Sarah J. Maas. I’ve been super-excited about this book for a seriously long time, so I’m really looking forward to finally reading it!

4) How to Be Bad by E. Lockhart, Lauren Myracle & Sarah Mlynowski. One of the new contemporaries that I bought in June. I’m hoping to read this while the weather holds out.

5) Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson. I’ve heard that this is on the heavy side for a summer contemporary, but I’m looking forward to reading it anyway. I’ve also had it on my shelf for a while, so it’ll be good to finally get it read.

6) Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen. Sarah Dessen’s books are usually my first choice when I feel like reading something summery – they’re all so good! 😀 – so I’m really excited about this latest release. Though I’m also a little nervous about it, as I didn’t like her last book (The Moon & More) nearly as much as I liked the ones that came before it…

The other two books that I might take with me are Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton and The Girl who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente, but I’ll have to wait and see if there’ll be enough room in my suitcase… And of course, I’ll also be bringing my kindle along, just in case these books simply aren’t enough~ 😉

9 thoughts on “Holiday Reads

  1. ssjtimelord says:

    I’m so excited to be reading alongside you! Plus, I’ve brought The Knife of Never Letting Go (another nice bit of continuity for you!) I’ll be interested to see what you think of the sequel…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m hoping to read The Knife of Never Letting Go this month! Do you perhaps have a review of this book? I’d love to read your thoughts.
    AND I’M SO EXCITED FOR YOU TO BE READING A Court of Thorns and Roses!

    Like

    • I read it about 2 years ago, so the most I can really say is that it was really, really good, & I would’ve read the sequel straight away if I hadn’t been stuck on a train… :p But I’ll probably do a series review once I’ve read Monsters of Men. I really hope you enjoy TKoNLG! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. BookMates says:

    Im going to be reading A courts of thorns and roses on my holiday to as i have been waiting to read it for like forever!! Have fun!
    ~Hafsa ♡

    Like

Leave a Reply

