An interesting time in Iceland!

Interesting Times in Iceland!

Interesting Times in Iceland!

As of 14th June (at about 3am), I’m back from my trekking holiday in Iceland! Not all that much reading went on, but I had so much fun riding that I didn’t mind it too much~ 😉

My friend Clare (who went with me) and I decided before we left that we’d do a readalong while we were away, and since we’re both huge Terry Pratchett fans, a Discworld book was the obvious choice. Initially, we were planning on reading The Last Continent, because I was mistakenly under the impression that Clare already had a copy. She didn’t, and she wasn’t able to find one cheaply either, so upon my arrival in Reykjavík, I was presented with a copy of Interesting Times to read instead – which, in hindsight, was probably for the best, as the events of Interesting Times lead directly into The Last Continent

Me & Sunna, my favourite of the horses I rode during the week.

Anyway, our plan was to read 50 pages every day (the book is just over 350 pages in total, so it worked out nicely), and we both managed it with time to spare! The only day that we didn’t get time to read was Friday (12th June), as we rode 40km that day, so we had to leave early, and we didn’t get back to Reykjavík until quite late… But thankfully we were both able to finish the next morning, on the bus to the airport. 😀

The other book that I read in Iceland was City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare, which I finished on the aeroplane on the way there, and on the way back, I started on City of Glass as well – and I’m really enjoying it so far! As for the horse-riding, here are some of the photos I took while I was on the road:

Sunna & Síða having an early lunch.

Sunna & Síða having an early lunch.

Clare making a new friend.

Clare making a new (toothy) friend.

Milling around.

Milling around.

Heading down to ford the river.

Heading down to ford the river.

A statue of a viking ship in Reykjavík (taken at about 1am!).

A statue of a viking ship in Reykjavík (taken at about 1am!).

And to finish off, I’ll leave you with a fun quote about riding (kind of):

They were probably descended from people who learned that if you look too hard at anyone on horseback you receive a sharp stinging sensation such as might be obtained by a stick around the ear. Not looking up at people on horseback had become hereditary. People who stared at people on horseback in what was considered to be a funny way never survived long enough to breed.

Interesting Times by Terry Pratchett

2 thoughts on “An interesting time in Iceland!

  1. Panda says:

    Looks like you had a great time! Did you see the volcano that blew up in 2010 (I think)? And ooh, Discworld. I’ve yet to read one of Mr Pratchett’s books but I would love to in the future! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

