The Bookshelf Tag

Once again, nobody tagged me to do this, but I thought it looked fun~ I first saw it on mylittlebookblog, and you should definitely check out that post if you like the look of the tag. 😀

1) Describe your bookshelf (or wherever it is you keep your books – it doesn’t actually have to be a shelf!) and where you got it from.

bookshelvesI have five bookcases: Two tall matching ones, with six shelves each, plus a row of books across the top. I had to make a deal with my mum for these – she agreed to get them for me, as long as I agreed to get rid of my old bunk bed, which used to take up the space where my bookcases now live.

bookshelves 2The second is narrow, but quite tall, with three shelves that are really more like cubbyholes. This one I salvaged from the downstairs corridor (my house is full of bookcases) when Mum was getting rid of it in order to fit in a bigger one… Once again, I had to chuck something to free up the space in my room – this time my bedside table. 😛

bookshelves 3bookshelves 4The last two are both quite small, and I’ve had them for as long as I can remember. The larger one is painted white, with two quite high shelves, so this is where I keep most of my tall books. The other is unpainted wood, with three very low shelves, the perfect height for manga (but not much else).

2) Do you have any special way of organizing your books?

I used to order them alphabetically by author, but since space has become an issue, nowadays they’re arranged loosely by genre, any way they’ll fit.

George R.R. Martin//A Dance with Dragons3) What’s the thickest (most pages) book on your shelf?

A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin. I have it in hardback, so the whole thing is in one book (they split the paperback into two volumes in the UK). It’s 1016 pages, including the appendix at the end (959 pages without it).

Isabel Greenberg//The River of Lost Souls4) What’s the thinnest (least pages) book on your shelf?

Either Hildafolk by Luke Pearson or The River of Lost Souls by Isabel Greenberg. Hildafolk is 26 pages, and The River of Lost Souls is 28, but since the pages aren’t double-sided, only 14 of those actually have anything on them…

Doogie Horner//100 Ghosts5) What’s the smallest (height and width) book on your shelf?

100 Ghosts by Doogie Horner. It’s about 6×4 inches. 🙂

Isabel Greenberg//The Encyclopedia of Early Earth6) What’s the biggest (height and width) book on your shelf?

The Encyclopedia of Early Earth by Isabel Greenberg. This thing is massive – it barely even fits in my backpack! 😮

Patrick Ness//The Knife of Never Letting Go7) Is there a book from a friend on your shelf?

Surprisingly, I don’t think there are any… My friends don’t really give me books, ’cause they’re not sure what I have and haven’t already read (though they sometimes give me book tokens). The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness was given to me by my aunt, if that counts. She’s family, but she’s also a friend…

British Myths & Legends8) Most expensive book?

I don’t really buy expensive books (my inner self cringes away from price tags higher than about £10 😛 ), but I have a few Folio Society editions that my parents have given me. I don’t know exactly how much each one cost, but the ones I have are: The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame, Cautionary Tales by Hilaire Beloc, Just So Stories and The Jungle Book by Kudyard Kipling, The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett, and a box set of British Myths & Legends, edited by Richard Barber.

Jonathan Stroud//The Ring of Solomon9) The last book you read that’s on your shelf?

The Ring of Solomon by Jonathan Stroud. I’ve read a couple of library books since then, as well as some ebooks, but that was the last book I read that I actually have on my shelf right now…

Dick King-Smith//The Invisible Dog10) Of all the books on your shelf, which was the first you read?

Probably The Invisible Dog by Dick King-Smith. I was obsessed with his books when I was little, and The Invisible Dog in particular, I read over and over again.

Sally Green//Half Bad11) Do you have more than one copy of any of your books?

Only Half Bad and Half Wild by Sally Green (as well as Half Lies, the novella). I originally bought them on kindle, but then I decided to get physical copies when I met Sally Green at the Cambridge Literary Festival, so I could get them signed. With Half Lies I have two kindle copies, which annoys me whenever I think about it – I bought it individually, but it also came as part of my kindle pre-order of Half Wild… and by that time, it was too late to return the individual copy that I had. :/

J.K. Rowling//Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone12) Do you have any complete series?

Lots of them! To name a few: the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling, the Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan, the Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz… and so on.

Lewis Carroll//Jabberwocky and Other Nonsense13) What’s the newest addition to your shelf?

Jabberwocky & Other Nonsense by Lewis Carroll, which was in my last book haul. I’ve been pretty good about sticking to my book-buying ban this month, though I did cave and order one book on Amazon (it hasn’t arrived yet, though).

Dick King-Smith//A Mouse Called Wolf14) What book has been on your shelf forever?

Lots of them, probably, but the ones that first come to mind are my old Dick King-Smith books. I have The SchoolmouseThe Terrible Trins, A Mouse Called Wolf and The Invisible Dog, all of which I’ve been hanging onto since I was pretty young.

Carrie Hope Fletcher//All I Know Now15) What’s the most recently published book on your shelf?

All I Know Now by Carrie Hope Fletcher. I don’t usually buy books when they’ve just been released, but I was seriously excited for this one, so I went and got it the day after it came out…

Wilhelm Wagner//Asgard & the Gods16) The oldest book on your shelf (as in, the actual copy is old)?

I have a few books that were published in the early 20th century, but the oldest is probably Asgard & the Gods by Wilhelm Wägner & M.W. MacDowall, which was published in 1889, and which used to belong to my great aunt.

Ken Akamatsu//A.I. Love You vol. 117) A book you won?

I once won the first three volumes of A.I. Love You in the raffle at a talk on manga that I went to, but I’m really not a fan of Ken Akamatsu’s art style, so I ended up giving them to a friend…

18) A book you’d hate to let out of your sight (a.k.a. a book you’d never let someone borrow)?

DSCN0518I’m usually pretty okay about lending people my books, as long as they know to return them promptly, and without damaging them. I guess I might be reluctant to part with my Folio Society books, just because they’re so beautiful, but I won’t know for sure unless someone actually asks to borrow one (which is unlikely, I think).

Alison Uttley//A Traveller in Time19) Most beaten-up book?

A Traveller in Time by Alison Uttley, which I rescued from my parents, who were using it as a coaster… 😡 That, or A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin, which I carried around in my handbag for several months (much to the displeasure of my shoulder), so the dust jacket is almost completely ruined.

20) Most pristine book?

Most of my books are either in pristine condition, or close to it…

C.S. Lewis//The Lion, the Witch & the Wardrobe21) A book from your childhood?

I don’t want to say Dick King-Smith again, so this time it’s The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. My granny had a set of these that she kept in the spare bedroom that my sister and I used when we went to stay with her, so I’d always read them when I was at her house. Eventually, my parents decided to get me my own copies, so I have a giant box-set of them now.

Mike Richardson//47 Ronin22) A book that’s not actually yours?

I have three library books sitting on my shelf at the moment (since it doubles as my bedside table): 47 Ronin by Mike Richardson, Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson, and Fables Volume 4: March of the Wooden Soldiers. Though I really hope that I will have returned these by the time this post goes up, as they’ll be way overdue by the time I get back from Iceland! 😛

23) A book with an unusual cover (e.g. leather bound, soft fuzzy cover, etc.)?

Terry Pratchett//Dragons at Crumbling CastleI got the collector’s edition of Dragons at Crumbling Castle by Terry Pratchett, which is cloth-bound, as is my copy of Jabberwocky and Other Nonsense, as well as a few others…

24) A book that is your favorite color?

My favourite colour is orange, which isn’t exactly the most popular colour for books, but, once again, Dragons at Crumbling Castle is orange (though not quite as bright as I’d like 😉 ).

Mervyn Peake//Gormenghast trilogy25) The book that’s been on your shelf the longest without you reading it?

Probably the Gormenghast trilogy by Mervyn Peake. I have started reading it, but that was several years ago, and I’m still only a few pages in… 😳

Anthony Horowitz//Point Blanc26) Any signed books?

There’s a few that I bought signed: The Slow Regard of Silent Things by Patrick Rothfuss; Crocodile Tears by Anthony Horowitz; and Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein. And the ones that I’ve taken to conventions with me: The Story of Alice by Robert Douglas-Fairhurst; Point Blanc by Anthony Horowitz; and Half Bad and Half Wild by Sally Green.

Leave a Reply

