The Ultimate Book Tag

I’m not sure who created this tag, but I was tagged by Panda from Panda’s Books. 😀

1) Do you get sick while reading in the car?

Yes, unfortunately. And I used to be okay on buses, but lately that seems to have changed… 😦 I like to listen to audiobooks in the car, though.

Catherynne M. Valente//Deathless2) Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you?

Catherynne M. Valente’s writing style is really extraordinary: The way she strings words together is almost like poetry.

3) Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

Harry Potter, because 1) it has a plot, 2) it has likeable, well-developed characters, and 3) the vampires don’t glitter (as far as we can tell).

4) Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books)?

I haven’t since school- nowadays I just don’t carry around enough books at any one time to justify it, unless I’m at a festival or convention (and actually, I did get one of the Penguin tote bags when I was at the Oxford Literary Festival, so maybe that counts?). One book bag that I’m really lusting over, though, is this amazing one

Apart from whatever I’m currently reading, I just carry around the usual things: keys, wallet, phone, and my 3DS (which I take everywhere 😛 ).

5) Do you smell your books?

Yes, I do. 😳

6) Books with or without little illustrations.

It depends on the book, really. I don’t like to have anything more than maps in my fantasy books, but sometimes pictures can really help you to visualise what’s going on (they were used to great effect in Scott Westerfeld’s Leviathan trilogy, for example – you can see some samples of it over at Keith Thompson’s website). It can also be quite nice to have pictures in children’s books, particularly the classics.

Stephanie Meyer//Twilight7) What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?

Twilight, I guess, though it doesn’t meet those criteria exactly: I thought the books were a lot of fun to read (and still do!), but even while reading them, I was aware of the fact that the writing was pretty awful, and that Edward and Bella were terrible romantic leads…

8) Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

Not really, but I did used to really hate reading, because I didn’t have the patience for it… so I think it’s quite funny that now I prefer incredibly long, slow-burn books to short, fast-paced ones. 😀

Luke Pearson//Hildafolk9) What is the tiniest book on your shelf?

Height-wise, my copy of the Collins Welsh Dictionary. In terms of width, I’ve got a few books that are so short that they’re just stapled together & don’t even have a spine… The River of Lost Souls and The Snow Queen and Other Stories by Isabel Greenberg; Hildafolk by Luke Pearson; and a book of Christmas carols for ocarina…

10) What is the thickest book on your shelf?

George R.R. Martin//A Dance with DragonsProbably my hardback copy of A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin, but Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susannah Clarke is pretty chunky, too.

11) Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

I’d like to be a writer some day, and I’ve got several ideas for novels that I want to write – I just need to find the willpower to actually sit down and write them. :/

12) When did you get into reading?

J.K. Rowling//Harry Potter and the Philosopher's StoneWhen I was about 10, my best friend at primary school convinced me to give Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone a go, and I didn’t really like it initially (it was taking far too long to get to Hogwarts!), once she showed me where the magic started, I got really into it, and I never looked back. 😉

13) What is your favourite classic book? In school what was your best subject Language/Arts/English?

Jane Austen//Pride and PrejudicePride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, because it’s amazing and hilarious. My best subjects at school were Physics and Classical Civilisation…

14) If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do?

Thank the person who gave it to me, then wait a while and donate it to charity. People who give me books don’t usually try to discuss them with me afterwards (except my parents, who I’m not worried about offending). But if they did ask later on, then I’d be honest about not really liking it (I very rarely hate books).

To be honest, though, I am very rarely given books, as I think most of my friends find it difficult to pick things out that they’re sure I don’t already have… 😛

15) What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?

I like to run up and down in the kitchen while I listen to my music, which sometimes annoys my parents (& my sister), though they’re pretty used to it by now. I’m also a terrible procrastinator, and I regularly sleep in past noon on days when I’m not working in the morning.

16) What is your favourite word?

Quiddity! Which is a word for an odd but inconsequential little habit that has kind of become a part of you. For example, I always eat with a small knife and fork.

17) Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

I’m not entirely sure that I know the difference… 😕

18) Vampires or Fairies? Why?

Hmm… I’ve read more good vampire books than fairy ones, but as a concept, I think I prefer fairies. The mythology for them is just so varied.

Cassandra Clare//Clockwork Angel19) Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

Shapeshifters. I like what I’ve read of Cassandra Clare’s Shadowhunter Chronicles universe, but I’m not generally a huge fan of religious themes in books (which usually come along with angels)…

20) Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Werewolves, definitely. Actual wolves are one of my favourite animals, and I also find the duality of werewolves really interesting (human side vs. animal side, logic vs. instinct, and other such things).

21) Zombies or Vampires? Why?

Vampires. Zombies are one of my two greatest fears. Or rather, corpses are, but corpses that move are even worse than corpses that don’t. And I know that technically vampires are corpses, too, but they have personalities and they don’t rot, so it’s not something that really gets shoved in your face too much.

Lauren Oliver//Delirium22) Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

I tend to prefer love stories with a little less drama, but both of these can be fun when they’re done really well, like the Will/Tessa/Jem triangle in The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare, or Lena and Alex’s relationship in Delirium by Lauren Oliver.

23) Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

I like my books to have at least a little romance in them, but otherwise I’m not really fussy – I read a variety of different genres, so it really depends on the book. One thing that I don’t really like is when books outside the romance genre end up focusing on love to the exclusion of all else (*cough*Shatter Me*cough*).

4 thoughts on “The Ultimate Book Tag

Leave a Reply

