T5W: Series I want to start this year

I made a promise to myself this year, that I wouldn’t start too many new series, but would instead try to focus on finishing some of the ones I’ve already started. That said, there are a few exceptions, mostly because there are several series that I’ve already bought but haven’t got round to starting yet. So here are the series that I’m most looking forward to starting this year:

Elizabeth Wein//Code Name Verity5) The Code Name Verity duology by Elizabeth Wein

I bought the first book in this series a few months ago, & have been wanting to start on it ever since. Alas, there are a lot of books that I want to read, so it got sidelined for a while, but I hope to get to it soon. It’s a World War II-era novel about a British spy who crash-lands in Nazi-occupied France, and to be honest I’d rather not know too much more about it before I start reading. The second book in the series, Rose Under Fire, is, I believe, a companion novel rather than an outright sequel.

Catherynne M. Valente//The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making4) The Fairyland series by Catherynne M. Valente

Another series that I started purchasing recently, even though I don’t know too much about it. It’s a children’s fantasy series, and I believe that it was initially just a fictional series in another of Catherynne M. Valente’s novels. I’m mainly excited for this one because Valente’s writing is so beautiful (I read Deathless early last year and was blown away).

Sarah J. Maas//Throne of Glass3) The Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

Fantasy world! Assassins! What more is there to say? I’ve not had the greatest luck with YA fantasy (for the most part I prefer adult or children’s fantasy), but I’ve heard really amazing things about this series, and Sarah J. Maas has a lot of really die-hard fans. I do like assassin stories, too, so there’s a good chance I’ll like this.

Laini Taylor//Daughter of Smoke & Bone2) The Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy by Laini Taylor

An urban fantasy series about demons, which is set in Prague! Once again, I don’t know all that much about the plot, but I’ve heard really, really wonderful things about the writing, and (best of all), it apparently has a completely satisfying conclusion! (Which seems to be rare these days.)

Rick Riordan//The Sword of Summer1) The Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard series by Rick Riordan

The only new release on my list! This series is, as far as I know, another spin-off of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, which is one of my all-time favourites. My hope is that Magnus Chase (presumably the main character) is in some way related to Annabeth Chase (Percy’s best friend and girlfriend in the original series), and therefore Percy will be showing up at some point. But even if there’s no Percy in this series, I’m excited for more of Rick Riordan’s writing, and for his take on Norse mythology, which I’ve always loved.

(Potentially interesting fact: Almost-but-not-quite making it onto this list was the Kane Chronicles, also by Rick Riordan, which I still haven’t read yet. But the potential for more Percy in the Magnus Chase series made this one slightly more exciting.) The first book in the series is The Sword of Summer, and will be released in October.

Leave a Reply

