Christmas Booktubeathon: TBR!

Hi everyone! I haven’t been reading all that much for the last couple of days, as I’ve been far too busy playing Pokémon with Chloë, and doing touristy things in Hong Kong! I’m having a lot of fun (and Chloë, who knows me all too well, has taken me to several bookshops…), but hopefully my book-free time will be over soon, as the Christmas Booktubeathon has just been announced, to take place from Friday 19th – Sunday 21st December!

As it’s just a three-day readathon, there are only a few challenges to complete, and they are as follows:

1) Read a book with red and green on the cover.

2) Read a book that you really wanted to read this year.

3) Read a book that somebody gave or recommended to you.

4) Read at least three books.

That last one I very much doubt I’ll be able to complete, as I’m sure I’ll be busy for most of the weekend, but I should be able to manage the other three, so here’s my TBR list:

Alexandra Bracken//Brightly Woven1) Brightly Woven by Alexandra Bracken. At the beginning of the year, I started to really get into Booktube, and everyone seemed to be talking about the Darkest Minds trilogy. Unfortunately I only had my kindle with me in Beijing, and the only one of Alexandra Bracken’s books that was available in the UK kindle store was Brightly Woven, her debut novel. I read the synopsis and liked it, and I remember being impressed by the ratings, too – I probably would have read it then, except that (as usual), I had too many other books that I also wanted to read. So this is going to count for challenge no. 2, but it’ll also count for no. 1, as the cover (may be predominantly blue, but) has both red and green on it. I should be able to read most of this on Friday, as Chloë will be at work, and I am not particularly prone to wandering by myself…

2) The other book I’ve decided to read is called Studio Ghibli Layout Designs: Understanding the Secrets of Takahata and Miyazaki Animation, and was published earlier this year as part of the Hong Kong Jockey Club series. It was given to me (by Chloë) as an early Christmas present when I arrived here, and seems to essentially be a catalogue for the Studio Ghibli exhibition that was on here during the summer (and I was incredibly jealous that Chloë got to see it before it ended… 😦 ). You can find more information about the exhibition here if you’re interested, but I haven’t been able to find the book on Goodreads (and my camera sucks), so I can’t show you a picture of it. The book itself is quite small, so I should be able to finish it over the weekend despite the fact that I’ll be with more touristy stuff (and also packing). It also has a lot of pictures, and is written bilingually in Chinese and English, so only about a third of the book is made up of words that I am able to read, so that helps, too. 😉 This will (obviously) count for challenge no. 3.

If you’d like to find out more about the readathon, then the best place to start is with this announcement video, and to keep track of future Booktubeathon plans, be sure to subscribe to the youtube channel and/or the Booktubeathon twitter account.

Leave a Reply

