Upcoming Releases: Winter 2014-15

My last Upcoming Releases post was rather long-winded, and didn’t have much in the way of solid dates… so I thought I’d make this a quarterly thing – this one will cover December 2014 – February 2015. One of the books being released this winter I’ve already mentioned, but all the others are sparkly new things to get excited about. What books are you most looking forward to this winter? Be sure to let me know in the comments!

[NB: All dates are taken from Amazon UK unless stated otherwise, and are correct as of 27/11/2014.]

Katie McGarry//Breaking the RulesBreaking the Rules by Katie McGarry (8th December)

This is the fifth and (probably) final book in the Pushing the Limits series, which is made up of companion novels, instead of forming an overarching storyline. Chronologically, this book will be set between the first two books in the series (around the same time as the novella, Crossing the Line), but instead of focusing on a new couple, as most of the books in the series have, we’ll be returning to Noah and Echo, the main protagonists from Pushing the Limits, which I’m personally really excited about. Noah and Echo remain my favourite couple in the series, and I’m really looking forward to seeing them in a more settled relationship.

Neil Gaiman//Hansel & GretelHansel & Gretel by Neil Gaiman (11th December)

I think this may actually be out in some places already, since Goodreads lists an October release date, but in any case, I haven’t seen it in shops yet. This is a retelling of the classic fairytale of the same name, and I don’t know that there’s going to be any particular new spin on the story, but Neil Gaiman’s haunting writing should make this book wonderfully atmospheric. It’s also illustrated by Lorenzo Mattotti, and I’m not familiar with his work, but if the cover’s any indication, it’ll be a perfect fit. Fans of The Sleeper and the Spindle (released earlier this year) will probably want a copy of Hansel & Gretel.

Marissa Meyer//FairestFairest by Marissa Meyer (27th January)

Probably my most-anticipated of the books in this post, though it’s only a novella… Fairest is set in the Lunar Chronicles universe, and is essentially an origin story for Levana, the cruel Lunar queen. It is, I suspect, based on the tale of Snow White, and my hope is that it will tell us more about the relationship between Levana and her stepdaughter Winter. It’s a little disappointing that we’re not getting the final Lunar Chronicles book for a while, but hopefully Fairest will help to fill that hole while we wait for Winter.

Francesca Haig//The Fire SermonThe Fire Sermon by Francesca Haig (26th February)

This is the first book in a new dystopian, post-apocalyptic series, set in a world where all humans are twins – one physically perfect Alpha, and one mutated Omega – who are separated into camps by society. Some of the reviewers I follow have already received ARCs of this book, which makes me incredibly jealous, and all the reviews I’ve seen so far have had very good things to say.

Leave a Reply

