T5W: Female Characters

T5W stands for Top 5 Wednesday, which is a Goodreads group that you can find here. Every week, there’s a new theme, and each participant has to make their own top 5 list. I’ve been eyeing the group for a while, since it looks fun, & I thought that this weeks theme seemed like a good topic to start on. 🙂 I probably won’t do this every week, but you’ll definitely be seeing a few more T5W posts around.

As you can probably tell from the title, the theme for this week is female characters, so without further ado, here are my (tentative, because this was a really hard list to narrow down) top 5 favourite female characters:

Sophie Nélisse as Liesel in the Book Thief movie.

Sophie Nélisse as Liesel in the Book Thief movie.

5) Liesel Meminger (from The Book Thief by Markus Zusak)

Liesel is a recent addition to my favourites list, as I only read The Book Thief a few months ago, but, seriously, wow, that book was heart-wrenching. I got ridiculously invested in the characters, & in Liesel in particular (not-so-surprisingly, since she’s the main character). She’s just an ordinary young girl growing up in really difficult times, but she’s an incredibly sympathetic lead, & I really couldn’t help but love her.

Shailene Woodley as Tris in the Divergent movie.

Shailene Woodley as Tris in the Divergent movie.

4) Beatrice Prior (from Veronica Roth’s Divergent trilogy)

Tris is probably the most obviously virtuous character on this list – she’s brave, and clever, and selfless, and when she does bad things, she always does them for good reasons (and, most importantly, she feels bad about having done them for ages after). She’s also the only action-heroine on the list, mainly because I’m not usually a fan of action-heavy books, and when I am, I don’t usually like the characters themselves all that much. Case in point: Katniss (from The Hunger Games). I like her as a character well enough, but I really get the feeling that if I ever met her in real life, I’d despise her. Not so with Tris – we could definitely be friends. 🙂

Sophie Turner as Sansa Stark in the Game of Thrones TV series.

Sophie Turner as Sansa in the Game of Thrones TV series.

3) Sansa Stark (from George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice & Fire series)

I love Sansa & Arya almost equally, so it was tough to pick between the two, but while Arya is all kinds of awesome, what makes me love Sansa so much is how much her character grows throughout the series. She starts off as this shallow, spoiled brat, but when life goes badly for her, instead of collapsing under the weight, she manages to find incredible strength, despite her fear. Sansa is probably one of the bravest characters I’ve ever read about, even though hers is not a particularly showy kind of courage.

Emma as portrayed by Kate Beckinsale in the 1996 TV adaptation.

Kate Beckinsale as Emma in the 1996 adaptation.

2) Emma Woodhouse (from Jane Austen’s Emma)

Emma is such a snob. I love her, but she’s still a snob – the kind of character who means well, but finds it difficult to resist being mean if she thinks it’ll make people laugh – which makes it a little awkward to read about her sometimes (especially since I’m the kind of reader who gets embarrassed on behalf of the characters…). So it took me a while to read Emma, but I’m so glad I did. She is hilarious, even if she’s sometimes a bit snippy with people, and her character growth is great to watch, as well.

Evvy from the US cover of Street Magic.

1) Evumeimei Dingzai (from Tamora Pierce’s Circle of Magic universe)

Tamora Pierce has written some amazing female characters, & several of them almost made this list (Alanna, Daine, Beka, Tris… I could go on), but Evvy is, & will probably always be my favourite. She was first introduced in Street Magic, the second book in The Circle Opens quartet, as a 10-year-old street rat in Chammur, unaware of her magical abilities, and eventually becomes Briar’s student. I initially liked her because of the way her personality complement’s Briar’s, & their dynamic is wonderful, but Evvy by herself is a force to be reckoned with, as well, & she definitely managed to carry her own story when she was given one (Melting Stones is one of my favourite Circle-verse books). She’s spunky & suspicious, and an all-out great character.

Leave a Reply

