Bout of Books 11 Readathon: Days 1-3

So I decided (pretty last-minute) to take part in the Bout of Books 11 readathon, which is taking place this week. Bout of Books is hosted at boutofbooks.blogspot.co.uk – there are all sorts of different challenges and giveaways to take part in, & it seems like a fun event. I was too late to sign up officially this time around, but it happens three times a year, so there’s that… If you’re interested in joining in, then you can find out all about it here.

Before I get to the actual updates, here’s the TBR list that I set myself for this week:

  1. Dark Angel and The Chosen by L.J. Smith (from Night World, Vol. 2)
  2. Lord Sunday by Garth Nix (the final book in the Keys to the Kingdom series)
  3. Elidor by Alan Garner
  4. Sabriel by Garth Nix (the first book in the Old Kingdom trilogy)
  5. Prince of Thorns (the first book in the Broken Empire trilogy)

DAY 1 (260 pages)

I got off to a pretty good by picking up Elidor first thing in the morning. 🙂 This is a pretty short book about four siblings (Nicholas, David, Helen & Roland) who accidentally stumble into another world called Elidor, and are roped into saving the world and fulfilling an ancient prophecy. It’s vaguely Narnia-esque in concept, but the majority of the story actually takes place in our world, and is largely concerned with stopping people from finding out about (& taking away) the four Treasures that the children brought back from Elidor with them, and there is much bickering involved. Character-wise, I liked the four siblings most of the time, especially Roland (from whose perspective the story is told), but I found their parents rather grating.

Overall, I thought this was a quick, charming read, and I gave it three stars, but I don’t think I’d read it again. The total page count for this book was 170 pages.

After Elidor, I picked up Night World Vol. 2, which I started reading several years ago, & I’ve been meaning to finish off for a while. The book is a bind-up of books 4-6 in the Night World series by L.J. Smith (who is probably best known as the author of the Vampire Diaries books).On Monday, I managed to get through the first 90 pages of Dark Angel (book 4), which is a story about a young girl called Gillian, who is brought back from the dead by an angel, who then proceeds to try to help her make all her dreams come true in rather sinister ways. This brought my total page count for day 1 up to 260 pages, which is not too shabby.

DAY 2 (0 pages)

On Tuesday, I (quite shamefully) read nothing. 😦

DAY 3 (763 pages)

My best reading day so far! First up, I finished off the last 78 pages of Dark Angel, which got much better towards the end, as Gillian (finally!) figured out that Angel wasn’t exactly as good a friend as she’d thought he was, & I ended up giving it three stars. After that, I moved on to the next book in the series, The Chosen, which I liked a lot better. This one is about a vampire hunter called Rashel (the Night World stories are only very loosely connected), who is trying to rescue/avenge several missing girls, and also fighting her attraction towards the vampire Quinn, who she thinks might be involved in their disappearance. It was a pretty fun read, & (in my humble opinion) one of the better Night World books, so I ended up giving it four stars. (Also, 173 pages long.)

Then I decided to deviate from my TBR a little, & I picked up Hawkeye Vol. 2: Little Hits, because I’ve been waiting for this book to be available at my local library for the longest time! The continued adventures of Hawkeye (& his kind-of-sidekick, who is also called Hawkeye). It was really fun, & I love the way that David Aja draws Hawkeye. Plus, there was this really cool issue towards the end that was from the perspective of Hawkeye’s dog! It was amazing, & I gave it four stars. This book doesn’t have page numbers(!), but according to trusty goodreads, it’s 136 pages long.

Lastly, I picked up Lord Sunday, because this series is something I always read quite quickly, & I wanted to be able to start a fresh book on the train to London tomorrow. This is the seventh & final book in the Keys to the Kingdom series by Garth Nix, which I started back in school & have been reading sporadically ever since. It’s difficult at this point for me to really remember what happened in the first few books, but the basic concept is: A boy named Arthur is made the Rightful Heir to the House (which means he’s basically the king of a whole world that exists parallel to our own), and has to travel to the House in order to reclaim the seven Keys which will enable him to rule. But, of course, there are several Trustees who are holding onto the Keys, & they’re not exactly willing to just hand them over. Each of the books focuses on Arthur’s search for one specific Key, and also on the emotional journey he’s going on as he becomes more and more a part of the House, and less a part of our world.

It’s a really great series (though I still prefer the Old Kingdom trilogy to anything else Garth Nix has written), and I this book was definitely my favourite of them. It had an appropriately shocking twist towards the end, & wrapped up really nicely. A very satisfying finish. I gave it three stars, though it came pretty close to getting four. Lord Sunday was 376 pages, which brought my total page count for Wednesday to 763 pages!

Leave a Reply

